Anushka Sharma Won Best Actress Award For Sultan In Star Dust Awards.

Anushka Sharma won viewers choice best actress award for the films Sultan and Aye Dil Hai Mushkil. Sultan won award for the best film in Stardust Awards. But Stardust gave no award to Aamir Khan for Dangal and Salman Khan for Sultan.

The Stardust Awards were given to the film industry. The entire program was telecast on Colours Channel on 8th January, 2017.

In some areas, the deserving artists won the award. In other areas there had been huge dissapointments.

For example Arijit Singh won the best male playback singer award for the song “channa mereya” from film Aye Dil Hai Mushkil. He really deserved the award. The song had some amount of pathos element. Arijit Singh depicted that in the song.

Pritam rightly won the best music director award for the film Aye Dil Hai Mushkil. He gave the best music in the year

in the films Aye Dil Hai Mushkil, Sultan and Dangal.

Amitabh Bhattacharya rightly won the best lyricist award for the song “channa mereya” from the film Aye Dil Hai Mushkil. The words were good.

Neha Bhasin rightly won the award for the best female playback singer for the song “jag ghumeya” from the film Sultan. The song had strong folk background and social message.


But in the acting department most of the awards were ridiculous. Neither Salman Khan won best actor of the year award for Sultan, nor Aamir Khan won best actor of the year award for Dangal. Both the films did business above 300 crores. Shahrukh Khan won the editor’s choice best actor award for the film Fan. It was ridiculous. The film Fan had been flop and a failure. The viewer’s choice best actor award went to Amitabh Bacchan for the film Pink. There has been a tradition of unnecessarily giving Shahrukh Khan awards after awards for nothing worth saying.


Varun Dhawan won the best superstar of the next generation. It is a big joke. From what angle he ended up being a superstar only God knows. None of his films till now had done business beyond 50 crores. Salman Khan and Aamir Khan’s film regularly do business above 300 crores. Even the new stars don’t have box office of the level of Ajay Devgan and Akshay Kumar. From what angle they have become superstars they only know.


The viewers’s choice best actress award went to Anushka Sharma for the two films, Sultan and Aye Dil Hai Mushkil. She deserved the award and had really put in a lot of hard work behind these roles. Sonam Kapoor won the editor’s choice best actress award for the film Neerja. She also did a good job.

Rishi Kapoor rightly got the best male supporting actor award for his performance in the film Kapoor and Sons. He is getting awards late in his career. He deserved many awards for Sargam, Amar Akbar Anthony, Karz. He did not receive them at that time.

Shabana Azmi rightly got the best female supporting actor award for her performance in the film Neerja. In the film she played the role of the mother of Sonam Kapoor and did a great job.

Rekha received the lifetime achievement award. The good thing is that the hard work of Rekha over the last 35 years had been acknowledged and appreciated. The bad thing is that the same stars receive lifetime achievement award. There are many other actors actresses who also deserved lifetime achievement award and did not receive them, examples are Shashi Kapoor, Manoj Kumar, Vinod Khanna, Moushumi Chatterjee, Rakhee Gulzar, Reena Roy. They should also be awarded for their contribution to Bollywood films.


Karan Johar received best director award for the film Aye Dil Hai Mushkil. But Ashutosh Gowarikar could have also won the award. There had been huge effort made by the director and his staff for recreating history in the film Mohenjodaro. It is always very difficult to make a period film. He took

up that challenge.


Sultan received viewers’s choice best film of the year award.

These days awards are only created to add TRP for the channel. The fact of analysing the performances of artists and making the best choice has gone many years ago. Even then certain section of actors, actresses, singers, music directors and technicians were appreciated for their efforts. The other group had been ignored altogether.



I am sharing the complete list of winners of Stardust Awards. Best Story: Shakun Batra for Kapoor and Sons

Best Screenplay: Abhishek Chaubey and Sudip Sharma for Udta Punjab

Best Costume: Alvira Agnihotri Khan & Ashley Rebello for Sultan

Best Lyricist: Amitabh Bhattacharya for Channa Mereya from Ae Dil Hai Mushkil

Best Music Company: Sony Music India for Ae Dil Hai Mushkil

Best Playback Male: Arijit Singh for Channa Mereya from Ranbir Kapoor’s Ae Dil Hai Mushkil

Best Playback Female: Neha Bhasin for Jag Ghoomeya from Sultan

Best Choreographer: Bosco Martis for Kala Chashma from Katrina Kaif and Sidharth Malhotra’s Baar Baar Dekho

Best Male Debut: Harshvardhan Kapoor for Mirzya

Best Female Debut: Saiyami Kher for Mirzya and Disha Patani for MS Dhoni – The Untold Story

Best Music Director: Pritam for Ae Dil Hai Mushkil

Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Male): Rishi Kapoor for Kapoor and Sons

Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Female): Shabana Azmi for Neerja

Best Actor in a Negative Role: Jim Sarbh for Neerja

Lifetime Achievement Award: Rekha

Best Superstar of Next Gen: Varun Dhawan

Global Icon of the Year: Priyanka Chopra

Editor’s Choice Best Filmmaker: Ram Madhvani for Neerja

Editor’s Choice Best Filmmaker: Aniruddh Tony for Pink

Best Director: Karan Johar for Ae Dil Hai Mushkil

Editor’s Choice Best Actress: Sonam Kapoor for Neerja

Most Iconic Performance of the Year: Aishwarya Rai Bachchan for Sarbjit

Best Actress of the Year: Anushka Sharma for Ae Dil Hai Mushkil and Sultan

Editor’s Choice Best Actor of the Year: Shah Rukh Khan for Fan

Viewer’s Choice Best Actor of the Year: Amitabh Bachchan for Pink

Viewer’s Choice Best Film of the Year: Sultan

Personally I am not happy with the awards at all. There is no point of Salman Khan not receiving the best actor award for Sultan. Even Aamir Khan had been deprived of his award for the performance in the film Dangal. Award authorities should be neutral to everyone.


Article Written By souvik1

Dr. Souvik Chatterji Address: 22/ 6, Kalicharan Ghosh Road, Flat - Chayabitan, 1st Floor, Kolkata - 700050, West Bengal Phone(s): +91 9163017214; +91 9950836554 | Email: | Date of Birth: 18th June 1976 Senior Level | Academic & Education | Administration & Operations | Research Law Institutions/Legal Domain

Posted on 09-01-2017 82 5

Please login to comment on this post.
Bogus Actors Actresses Win Filmfare Awards Making A Mockery Of The System.
Uttam Kumar Complimented Anil Chatterjee In Landmark Commercial Films